We CAN cook!

I love cooking. I’d like to think that I am
the next contender for Masterchef (but sadly I’m probably a little deluded). I have been desperate to start cooking with J. We’ve baked a lot of rock cakes and flapjacks. But I’ve really wanted to start cooking with him.

J loves doing what I’m doing and also sitting ‘up’ as he calls it on the worktop. We attempted making Coleslaw a while ago. But I’ve struggled to think how I could cook a meal with him with hot pans etc.

A few weeks ago a friend of mine told me she’s started using a slow cooker and she loves it. So I was inspired. I managed to borrow one to try it out and I have taken to it like a duck to water.

The best thing about it is that J can sit next to me and help me prepare our meal.

I chop all the veg and I tell him what each one is. He then sometimes tries some. Raw onion and garlic didn’t go down well (he went for it I didn’t offer). But his favourite bit is pushing all the ingredients off the chopping board into the bowl. He has also started to break up all the mushrooms for me. That’s his little job now and he takes it very seriously. I give him a spoon (or the other day he wanted to use a whisk) and he mixes all the ingredients , whilst I prepare the next bit.

There are many benefits to a slow cooker, which reach far beyond cooking with an 18 month old. Just look on the many slow cooker blogs out there.

But for me, having the opportunity to cook with J, for him to be involved without the fear of being burnt, and to eat the food he has made is great for us both.

I am hoping that this is sowing the seed for him being interested in food for a long time to come.

Leave a Reply

