Learning about food

J’s speech is coming on amazingly. Everyday he says something that I have no idea where it came from. This morning he put his hand in his cereal and told me it was ‘cold’. I think I’ve only ever told him about things being hot.

He is picking up everything, we have to be very careful about what we say.

The more he speaks and the more he understands, I’ve noticed he gets a little less frustrated, which is great.
He has started to ask specifically for food he wants. It’s very cute.

So I’ve been trying to think of more ways to teach him food names. And this afternoon, I’ve finally finished my plan.
A while ago on one of my Pinterest binges, I saw this great idea for helping with fine motor skills. They’d created a monster out of an wet wipe box and then the task was to feed it with pom poms and different things. It was such a good idea. So I made a monster and J fed him dried pasta, we also tried dried lentils. It was great fun. Today I’ve printed off and laminated some food, which we can feed the monster.

2015/01/img_2277.jpg

I want to do this activity with him, and then I can tell him what the food is. I’m also hoping it will get him more interested in different types of food. We’ll see.

And whilst I’m borrowing a friends laminator, I’ve made J some credit cards and loyalty cards. He loves playing with my purse and taking out my cards and I’m a bit worried I’ll lose a very important card, so I made him his own.

2015/01/img_2278-0.jpg

Is it bad that I’m loving having a laminator?

Leave a Reply

