Hoover

About 6 months ago J started to be interested in hoovers. I thought it was quite sweet, how he would play with it and he tried to find out how it all worked. But as time has gone on, the interest has turned into an obsession. He loves the hoover, he talks about it all the time, wants to play with it all the time and recently has started to watch YouTube videos on how they make Dyson vacuum cleaners (he won’t watch cartoons on TV but will watch these). I didn’t realise how much there was to know about the things. Then at Christmas, he was given a toy Henry Hoover from Granny and Grandpa and the obsession hit new levels. We didn’t see him for 3 days and now we have a short screaming session when we turn off our Hoover or his (don’t worry I don’t give in!)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/99e/70531971/files/2015/01/img_7672-0.jpg

I’ve been through many feelings about the Hoover… I’ve been worried that there might be something wrong with him. I’ve been completely fed up with the constant hoover noise, whether it is coming from our hoover, his toy hoover or just him making the noise because we won’t turn it on. I’ve also felt pleased that he’s found something he’s interested in.

I read somewhere that originally he might of been scared of the hoover and getting to know it helped him with his fear. That does seem plausible. But I also think he’s just into things like hoovers, fans (can spot one anywhere, I didn’t realise how many things have fans in) and mixers.

I’ve tried all sorts to avert his interest, which didn’t really work. So I have tried to do things with him on a theme. For example today we made a fan… Don’t laugh, it took me all of 5 mins to make it and he wasn’t that bothered about colouring it.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/99e/70531971/files/2015/01/img_2266.jpg

But he was interested in the fan itself and how it was spinning.

Then this afternoon after playing with some tin flan dishes he threw them on the floor and watched them spin. He loved it. On a worrying note, I’ve put the flan dishes somewhere after tidying up and can’t find them anywhere!

A while ago we also sucked paper up using a straw. I cut up squares of paper and then used the straw to suck them onto the end of the straw. He quite enjoyed that.

I’ve come to a place of acceptance with the Hoover obsession, and I’m letting it happen. We’ll keep trying to find new things to interest him today we’ve also been jumping like Lemurs and reading a book called ‘How to lose a Lemur’ by Frann Preston-Gannon.

You never know, one day he might design a super vacuum cleaner.

One thought on “Hoover

  1. George says:

    He needs an interest in hoovers if you’re going to to do all that play with sawdust. You can teach him to tidy up afterwards. Fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

