Invitation to play

We bought J a table recently. He is always climbing on ours, so I wondered if he had his own whether he would stop climbing on ours. The answer is no!

But what has happened is we have the perfect platform for invitations to play. Every evening I set out a different activity and then it’s ready for him in the morning. What I’ve noticed is he is a little more focused with the activities and because we are not getting loads of toys out he doesn’t get bored with them all.

IMG_2150-2.JPG

We’ve had shapes and stacking rings, with puzzles.

Then we had Duplo…

IMG_2157.JPG

This was great for playing with the animals and for the first time he made the right sound for the horse instead of thinking the horse and goat makes a moo sound.

IMG_2159.JPG

Then I set up colenders with pipe cleaners, he loves playing with these because he can now push the pipe cleaners through the holes. I also added some raw pasta and he was able to push the pipe cleaner through the pasta. Fortunately there wasn’t loads of pasta, but three days later I am still finding pasta every where.

IMG_2162-0.JPG

We also bought a till for him so I set up a shop. I’d managed to find a shopping basket in the £ shop which had some boxes in but I also saved some boxes and bottles. Now I know it’s a little advanced for him to role play with a shop, but he enjoyed putting the products in the basket. He also loves his till and has learnt to say money. J is a fan of bottles too so there was lots of fun to be had with that.

Other ideas I have….
1. Stickers
2. Vehicles
3. Cotton reels and threading
4. Magnets
5. Animals
6. Little people
7. Balls
8. Christmas

I also have to keep being creative to think of ideas which is great.

Leave a Reply

